Stratford farmer in Dairy awards

By Hannah Walker

Add a comment

The winners and finalists in the 2016 New Zealand Dairy Industry Awards are evidence of the opportunities for people to prosper in the country's dairy industry.

More than 530 people attended the national awards evening at Wellington's TSB Bank Arena last Friday night.

Among the finalists from throughout New Zealand was Stratford-based farmer Sam Howard. Sam won more than $11,000 in prizes at the regional competition as well as taking home the title of 2016 Taranaki Dairy Manager of the Year. Sam was also awarded the Dairy Manager of the Year Interview Award at the Saturday event.

2016 New Zealand Share Farmer of the Year:

- Winner, Mark and Jaime Arnold, Hawkes Bay/Wairarapa; runner-up, Michael and Susie Woodward, Canterbury; third, Callum and Hanna Stalker, Southland/Otago.

DairyNZ Human Resources Award - Michael and Susie Woodward.

Ecolab Farm Dairy Hygiene Award - Mark and Jaime Arnold.

Federated Farmers Leadership Award - Michael and Susie Woodward.

Fonterra Farm Source Interview Award - Matthew Herbert and Brad Markham.

Honda Farm Safety and Health Award - Michael and Susie Woodward.

LIC Recording and Productivity Award - Michael and Susie Woodward.

Meridian Energy Farm Environment Award - Callum and Hanna Stalker.

Ravensdown Pasture Performance Award - Mark and Jaime Arnold.

Westpac Business Performance Award - Mark and Jaime Arnold.

2016 New Zealand Dairy Manager of the Year:

- Winner, Thomas Chatfield, Bay of Plenty; runner-up, Hamish Kilpatrick, Canterbury; third, Lance Graves, Hawkes Bay/Wairarapa.

Dairy Manager of the Year Interview Award - Sam Howard.

DairyNZ Employee Engagement Award - Thomas Chatfield.

Meridian Energy Leadership Award - Renae Flett.

Fonterra Farm Source Feed Management Award - Hamish Kilpatrick.

DeLaval Livestock Management Award - Thomas Chatfield.

Primary ITO Power Play Award - Thomas Chatfield.

Fonterra Farm Source Farm Management Award - Matt Birchfield.

Westpac Financial Management and Planning Award - Lance Graves.

2016 New Zealand Dairy Trainee of the Year:

- Winner, Nicholas Bailey, Hawkes Bay/Wairarapa; runner-up, Karl Wood, Manawatu; third, Olivia Wade, Central Plateau.

DairyNZ Practical Skills Award - Karl Wood.

Visit for more information.

- Stratford Press

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


Have your say

1200 characters left

By and large our readers' comments are respectful and courteous. We're sure you'll fit in well.
View commenting guidelines.

© Copyright 2018, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf05 at 18 Jan 2018 19:54:19 Processing Time: 628ms