Stratford Speedway report

By Jess Johnson

Add a comment

Saturday night at Stratford Speedway was a busy night with the pervious race meeting being rained off & coming into the end of the season. The night was jammed packed with Club titles including Taranaki Superstock Champs, Heritage Shield for Stockcars and Midgets, King of The Mountain Champs for Saloons and the last Ramp Demolition Derby for the season.

Stockcars started the night's program with 20 cars on the grid, all determine to place somewhere in the Heritage Shield or to gain those extra few season points. Bevan Phillips (72s) who has shown some great form all season was the winner of the first race, followed by Tyler Walker (33s) in 2nd place and Dale Michielsen in 3rd. Monty Good (56s) took the wins for the 2nd and 3rd races, with Kylee Symes (229s) finishing in 2nd place for both those heats. Tyler (33s) finished heat 2 in 3nd and Bevan finished the 3rd race in 3rd place. A run off was needed to determine the winner for the Stockcars as Bevan and Kylee were both tied on 54, Bevan went on to win the run off which meant he was awarded the Heritage Shield for the 2015/16 season, with Kylee finishing in 2nd place and Monty finishing in 3rd place with 51 points.

The Superstocks saw a field of 19 cars, with 2 visitors from Wanganui Adam Mosley (26v) and Heath Hammett (31v). After a slight mishap at the last race meeting where he rolled his car, Bruce Williams (41s) won the first race in good form & then went on to finish the 2nd heat in 2nd place. In the 3rd race Bruce was taken to the wall coming into turn 4 by Mitch Vickery (26s) which saw him end his night with a DNF.

Paul Johnson (82s) went on to become the Taranaki Superstock Champion for this season with 50 points, Carl Shearer (75s) and Mark Phipps (35s) were both tied 47 points so a run off was required. Carl went on to win the run off finishing him in 2nd place and Mark finishing in 3rd place.

The winners for the Midget Heritage Shield was Duane Hickman (95s) with 35 points, Lydia Dickinson (75s) finished in 2nd place with 29 points and Auckland Driver Dayne Maxwell (81a) finished in 3rd place with 28 points.

Saloons ran for the King of the Mountain title which saw Thomas Korff (16s) who has been in excellent form this season, finish the night in 1st place, taking the title of King of the Mountain on 37 points. A run off was required to determine 2nd and 3rd place, Mark Hinton (45s) and Bodie Abrahamson (49m) battled it out in a 4 lap run off which saw Bodie take the win placing him in 2nd place and Mark finishing in 3rd place.
Supporting Class was Youth Ministocks.

After running in 2 Streetcar races during the night, derby cars finished the meeting with the last ramp demolition derby of the season with over 30 entries.

The crashing, bashing, jumping & smashing lasted for around 12 minutes with the last car still moving taking the win. The crowd was on their feet for the entire derby yelling & screaming for their favourite cars & thoroughly enjoying watching the cars use the jump in front of the grandstand.

Next weekend will be the final meeting for Stratford Speedway this season with the Saloons racing for their Heritage Shield & the Streetstock for their Best Pairs. If the weather does not play nice for Saturday night & the meeting is rained off, the final meeting will be run on Sunday 17th April at 1pm.

Race Results:

Stockcars - Heritage Shield
Race One: Bevan Phillips (72s), Tyler Walker (33s), Dale Michielsen
Race Two: Monty Good (56s), Kylee Symes (229s), Tyler Walker (33s)
Race Three: Monty Good (56s), Kylee Symes (229s), Bevan Phillips (72s)
Run-Off for 1st & 2nd: Bevan Phillips (72s), Kylee Symes (229s)
Title Winners: 1st - Bevan Phillips (72s), 2nd - Kylee Symes (229s), 3rd - Monty Good (56s)

Saloons - King of the Mountain Championship
Race One: Thomas Korff (16s), Daniel Hinton (46s), Russell Gorrie (51s)
Race Two: Bodie Abrahamson (49m), Richard Dreaver (7s) Thomas Korff (16s)
Race Three: Thomas Korff (16s), Mark Hinton (45s), Craig Korff (8s)
Run-Off for 2nd & 3rd: Bodie Abrahamson (49m), Mark Hinton (45s)
Title Winners: 1st - Thomas Korff (16s), 2nd - Bodie Abrahamson (49m), 3rd - Mark Hinton (45s)

Superstocks - Taranaki Championship
Race One: Bruce Williams (41s), Carl Shearer (75s), Paul Johnson (82s)
Race Two: Mitch Vickery (26s), Bruce Williams (41s), Paul Johnson (82s)
Race Three: Paul Shotter (8s), Carl Shearer (75s), Mark Phipps (37s)
Run-Off for 2nd & 3rd: Carl Shearer (75s), Mark Phipps (37s)
Title Winners: 1st - Paul Johnson (82s), 2nd - Carl Shearer (75s), 3rd - Mark Phipps (37s)

Midgets - Heritage Shield
Race One: Duane Hickman (95s), Anthony Batley (26s), Lydia Dickinson (75s)
Race Two: Campbell Stewart (97s), Duane Hickman (95s), Lydia Dickinson (75s)
Race Three: Duane Hickman (95s), Dayne Maxwell (81a), Greg Jones (42s)
Title Winners: 1st - Duane Hickman (95s), 2nd - Lydia Dickinson (75s), 3rd - Dyane Maxwell (81a)

Youth Ministocks
Race One: Erin Uhlenberg (8s), Ryan Houghton (112s), Will Hart (72p)
Race Two: Bradley Korff (86s), Brad Uhlenberg (85s), Tremaine Phipps (27s)
Race Three: Flynn Johnson (153s), Erin Uhlenberg (8s), Tremaine Phipps (27s)
Race Four: Alana Buckthought (35s), Erin Uhlenberg (8s), Ryan Houghton (112s)

Ramp Demolition Derby
$300 Last Car Standing - 555 Matt James
$100 Hard Luck - 524 Michael Stratton
$100 Best Presented - 28 Karl Uhlenberg
$250 Stirrers -102 Mitchell Vickery, 78 Cameron Duffy

- Stratford Press

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


Have your say

1200 characters left

By and large our readers' comments are respectful and courteous. We're sure you'll fit in well.
View commenting guidelines.

© Copyright 2018, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf04 at 18 Jan 2018 15:05:38 Processing Time: 835ms