Clean-out at regional council

Add a comment

Five new Northland Regional councillors will be sworn in later this month.

One incumbent, Graeme Ramsey (Kaipara) did not seek re-election, but former chairman Craig Brown, Dover Samuels, Joe Carr and Monty Knight all lost to challengers.

The regional councillors will be formally sworn in at a meeting in Whangarei on October 25, with their first tasks electing a new chairman and deputy.

The only Far North District councillor to lose their seat was David Collard, after one term. He finished fourth in Te Hiku Ward, behind newcomer Felicity Foy and fellow incumbent Mate Radich.

Final election results are not due to be released until Thursday, but is not expected to alter the outcome.

Provisional results

Far North mayoralty: successful: John Carter* (10,889); unsuccessful - Peter Gill (4485).

Far North District Council
Bay of Islands -Whangaroa Ward: successful - Willow-Jean Prime* (4894), Ann Court* (4566), Tania McInnes* (3115), Dave Hookway (3062); unsuccessful - Harko Brown (2824), Steve McNally (1766), Fred Terry (1685), Jane Johnston (1669), Patrick Crawshaw (1542).
Te Hiku Ward: successful - Colin Kitchen* (2917), Felicity Foy (2117), Mate Radich* (2005); unsuccessful - David Collard* (1931), Adele Gardner (1094), Lawrie Atkinson (999), David Senior (987), Karena Hita (594).
Kaikohe-Hokianga Ward: successful - John Vujcich* (2100), Sally Macauley* (1586); unsuccessful - Babe Kapa (1044), Owen Emery (655).

Community boards
Bay of Islands-Whangaroa: Kawakawa-Moerewa: successful - Kelly Stratford* (unopposed). Kerikeri: successful - Martin Robinson* (2009), Rachel Smith (1921), Lane Ayr (1467); unsuccessful - Sandy Myhre (1424), Doug Turner* (1292). Paihia: successful - Belinda Ward* (unopposed). Russell-Opua: successful - Terry Greening* (unopposed). Whangaroa: successful - Bruce Mills* (693); unsuccessful - Justin Fitton (231).
Te Hiku: Doubtless Bay: successful - Nuu Ward (unopposed). Kaitaia: successful - Adel Gardner*, Bronwyn Hunt, Awhina Murupaenga (unopposed). North Cape: successful - Melanie Dalziel* (unopposed). Whatuwhiwhi: successful - Lawrie Atkinson* (433); unsuccessful - Petrina Hodgson (269), Mike Ward (173).
Kaikohe-Hokianga: Kaikohe: successful - Mike Edmonds, Shaun Reilly, Kelly van Gaalen (unopposed). North Hokianga: successful - Emma Davis (320); unsuccessful - Phyllis Rintoul (185). South Hokianga: successful - Louis Toorenburg* (524), Robert Cassidy (490); unsuccessful - Garry Clarke* (452), John Schollum (423).

Northland Regional Council
Coastal Central: successful - Paul Dimery*; unsuccessful - Paul Doherty (2013), Gavin Dawson (1025).
Coastal North: successful - Bill Shepherd* (5612), Jocelyn Yeoman (5172). Unsuccessful - Dover Samuels* (4320).
Coastal South: successful - Rick Stolwerk (3624); unsuccessful - Craig Brown* (3219).
Hokianga-Kaikohe: successful - Justin Blaikie (1645); unsuccessful - Joe Carr* (1610).
Kaipara: successful - Penny Smart (1544); unsuccessful - Rob Stevenson (1428), Mark Vincent (1076), Sarah Kennett (439).
Te Hiku: successful - Mike Finlayson (2547); unsuccessful - Monty Knight (2382).
Whangarei Urban: successful - John Bain* (6002), David Sinclair* (5597); unsuccessful - Paul Gosling (4276).

- Northland Age

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


Have your say

1200 characters left

By and large our readers' comments are respectful and courteous. We're sure you'll fit in well.
View commenting guidelines.

© Copyright 2018, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf05 at 18 Jan 2018 14:58:11 Processing Time: 1083ms